top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJ.E. Mueller

NaNoWriMo



Well, the writing community loves to go mad in November with National Novel Writing Month and while I low key did not feel like doing it this yeah, I run my regional NaNo group so, guess who's working on writing 50k in one month?



Nope, not me, I reached 50k on the 13th XD


All funny commentary aside I finished the first draft of the last book in my portal/ Journey series. It's just under 53k


words and while I'm surprised the first draft is so short, I'm not that surprised. I tend to under write a little the first draft and I was expecting this story to be around 60k-75k words. With revisions, edits, beta feedback and more edits, it'll get to that range for sure.


It's actually really nice being done with that series. I loved all the mayhem, the different realms to portal among, and the intense magic, but wow! I had pages and pages full of information jotted down and I'm glad to break away to something less intense. (Yes Aud, if you ever read this, I really really did try and jot everything down!)


After I finish a draft I always give myself a little break, be it a few days or weeks. Since NaNo is still on going and I am still running daily writing sprints for my region I moved on to a different project. This particular project is one I am restarting. I had a fun concept and wrote about 17 pages (just over 8k words) and then I dont even know, I dropped it. So, the time feels right now. More details to come on that one. <3

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

November Nonsense

NaNoWriMo is starting to wind down, I've accidentally surpassed 3 of my goals, and I am over 25k words into a new story. Today, I just got feedback to the bare bones draft of the last book in my Journ

Releasing Soon

Yep, that's right. By The Skies is releasing soon. October 30th (my birthday!) to be exact. I'm super excited to have this book out, if you couldn't tell by my Twitter or Facebook posts. Blurb for By

bottom of page