top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJ.E. Mueller

November Nonsense

NaNoWriMo is starting to wind down, I've accidentally surpassed 3 of my goals, and I am over 25k words into a new story. Today, I just got feedback to the bare bones draft of the last book in my Journey series. My alpha reader really likes how it all ties up and gave me a great rundown of the early problems. It's the first draft, of course there's problems. I am really glad the ending works out though. Marina was one of my favorite characters and she had one of the roughest runs, but I won't spoil anything for you. Currently my goal is to release the entire series next year.


Good news if you don't want to wait that long though! I am accepting beta readers. Shoot me a message here, facebook, twitter, or discord and I we can chat. Want to read something more polished? Even better news! The villain anthology I am apart of just released! And it's freeeee! If it's not showing free for your region yet, give it a day or two. Amazon is sadly a little cranky about authors wanting to give readers something free. My story, A Mad King's Hymn follows the mad king from Fire's Song, in case you were all wondering what was going on with him behind the scenes. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08NWKLQRZ/

Before I head off, how about a snippet? Since I have parts of the Journey Series posted somewhere already (here, facebook, and so on), let's talk new work in progress mayhem. I thought it would be fun (and hilarious) to start a book out where the MC was ditched on a blind date. Why? I don't remember what sparked it, but I have been getting a kick out of it. This WIP is tentatively titled Beyond The Forest Gate. Here is a bit of how it starts (of course subject to change, nothing has been edited so grammar might be a tad off, all work is mine, ect):: Annoyed, I twirled the straw in my drink trying to decide the best course of action. My eyes were fixated on the message displaying across my screen. Nothing left shattering, just inevitable.

Sorry, something came up. I can’t make it. I’ll call you.

“No you won’t.” I muttered for maybe the third or fourth time.

This was probably the sixth blind date my friend tried, and failed, to set me up with this year. I wasn’t surprised. My pretty face could easily get interest, but after anyone did some basic digging into my life they did a sharp nope and exited stage left.

My friend knew too many average guys. Men who liked her enough to hang around, but didn’t want to date her. If they wouldn’t date her, why would they even be interested in me? I needed someone who wasn’t spooked by potions and dancing in the moonlight. I wanted, no needed, someone who could believe in a little bit of magic in this mundane life.

“Looks like you’re having the same day I’m having.” I heard a voice say across from me.

I glanced up and watched what looked like a cover model slide into the booth across from me with his drink. His hair was long and dark, tied back into a neat low ponytail.

“What makes you say that?” I asked, trying to keep my cool as muscles took a swig of his beer.

He set the drink down and shrugged, gray eyes meeting mine. “I was staring at my phone forever when I finally looked around and saw you giving yours the same treatment. So, friend ditch you or did you get rejected like me?”

“Either you’re overly honest or drunk.” I glanced down at my phone one last time before turning off the screen.

“Can’t I be both?” He shrugged, took another swig of his drink and gave a long sigh.

“I guess you can be. So, what’s your story, muscles? Why the rejection?” At least I was handling mine better than he was his. Mostly anyway. Maybe in another drink I’d have the guts to bother someone or just leave.

“It’s complicated… People say they want brains and beauty but damn if you have both.”

It was like he was mirroring my thoughts. “Okay Mr. smart guy. What makes your brains so scary?”

He paused and stared at his drink as he thought. “Nothing I can think of. Girls just seem turned off when they find out I spend most of my time in the woods.”

“It’s got to be more than just being an outdoorsman.” I sipped on my drink. This might be a good story afterall. Hearing someone else woes was at least more fun than drowning in mine.

“I am basically a park ranger and practically live in the woods. My free time is usually spent teaching archery, or other outdoorsy things.” He took another swig, the bottle nearly empty now.

“Sounds neat more than a turn off. Come on, what else is there?” I pressed, curiosity getting the better of me.”

He sighed, “Ever hear of the Anthist Clan.”

I snorted. “Bittermist Clan.”

Muscles looked up and raised an eyebrow. “Seriously? Why would you want to be with a group that works primarily with poisons.”

“Misconception. We aren’t afraid to use plants and herbs that have naturally dark dealings. Think chemo. It’s a poison, it will kill you, but it’s used to cure cancer. Anyway, I’m surprised anyone has heard of yours. Don’t you only allow exclusive members that need to pass a billion trials?”

Finally! Some luck in this town. Most of the clans really didn’t have enough magic to do anything worth talking about, but it was enough to give the plain Jane mortals a strong desire to leave us be. With how little magic could be done, most believe it was fake, a slight of hand, parlor tricks. I really had next to none so I didn’t bother trying to get anyone to believe me. I could summon enough of a thread to do a decent tarot card pull, read some tea leaves, or give a potion some extra kick.


I hope you enjoyed the sneak peak! Okay, that is A LOT more than a sneak peak, but I couldn't figure out where else to cut it off. Laters <3

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Releasing Soon

Yep, that's right. By The Skies is releasing soon. October 30th (my birthday!) to be exact. I'm super excited to have this book out, if you couldn't tell by my Twitter or Facebook posts. Blurb for By

bottom of page