top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJ.E. Mueller

New Year New Review

I kicked off 2021 reviewing a new book, and for a change of pace I did it on video. Whaa? Weird right. Thought it would be fun to do something a little different

To sum it up: Cyberpunk amazingness, not my normal read, highly recommend. First book review of the year! Shackle.exe


Now for other nonsense. I've decided to start the year off 'write' by writing curses. Because of course I am. I love high fantasy worlds where magic is known and curses are part of that magic. Shove that into a modern setting with modern meds? Gotta be great right?


Here's a snippet from the wip, subject to change, still unedited. Enjoy::


I stared blankly at my doctor as they read back my test results. The words were all ones I knew, ones I could comprehend, and yet, none of them lined up right. How could any of these apply to me? Pellaguin? The ice curse?

“Once it starts on stage three, we can do surgery to buy you more time, but ultimately, that’s all we can do. If you don’t find your soulmate within the next year and a half, you’ll be dead.”

I nodded without emotion to my doctor, not even sure how to respond to my looming mortality.

They nodded back, allowing a few moments pause before adding, “Any questions?”

My mind presented with a million questions. Were they sure? Why me? What the absolute fuck was I going to do. Somehow the shock helped keep me composed. “Yes, how am I supposed to resolve this in an ideally timely manner?”

The words slipped off my tongue casually, like I was being handed a task at work and had no real chance of meeting the deadline on top of the other projects handed to me.

“Many see great results with the help of a seer to guide them on where to go. I can give you the number of a few of the local ones.” I nodded. “Yes, that sounds like the best plan. Thank you.”

While my doctor consulted the computer I stared off into space. A seer. A fucking seer. How in the seven stars was I supposed to afford that? Did it matter? It was do or die.

I took the card, listened to the recommendations for checkups and when I should come back before heading to my car. The second I secured alone a sob ravaged through me.

How was I going to survive?


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

November Nonsense

NaNoWriMo is starting to wind down, I've accidentally surpassed 3 of my goals, and I am over 25k words into a new story. Today, I just got feedback to the bare bones draft of the last book in my Journ

Releasing Soon

Yep, that's right. By The Skies is releasing soon. October 30th (my birthday!) to be exact. I'm super excited to have this book out, if you couldn't tell by my Twitter or Facebook posts. Blurb for By

bottom of page