top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJ.E. Mueller

Pen Names

Hey Jess, I noticed you go by your name in a lot of interviews but post under J.E.Mueller. What’s up with that?

-I don’t know about you, but I know a ridiculous amount of Jessica’s. I even know several Jessica Mueller’s. In fact, I went to college, a community college, with seven of them. Personally, I wanted to stand out just a little, so I went by my initials. I’ve always loved that they spell JEM and thought it was pretty cute. Since most of my stuff is very whimsical and happily ever after it’s been even more fitting.


Should everyone use a pen name? -Nah When should someone use one? -When they want to. You don’t need a fancy reason for it. Some people like keeping their name out of the public eye. Some people like keeping their writer’s life and day to day life apart. Some people I’ve seen use it to honor loved ones. Me? As I said above, I didn’t want to be in an endless sea of Jessica’s when people are searching for my books.


Are there bad pen names? -Probably, but I’m not into judging names. Unless they are meant to be hilarious like C.S.Lewis used in a book -"There was a boy called Eustace Clarence Scrubb, and he almost deserved it."


Wait, is it Jess or Jessica? You’re using both here! -Either, whichever of those. I’ll say hi. If you follow me on other forms of social media you’ll see people calling me Penguin too, which I also respond to. Why penguin? They’re my favorite! <3 It’s an old high school nickname that’s followed me for well over a decade now and I have no desire to get rid of it.


If you wrote something in a completely different genre would you consider changing your pen name? -Yes! I would if I were writing something completely outside of fantasy. That is very unlikely though. I have far too much fun with magical mayhem. I can't think of anything else to answer here, so I hope that clears up everything <3


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

November Nonsense

NaNoWriMo is starting to wind down, I've accidentally surpassed 3 of my goals, and I am over 25k words into a new story. Today, I just got feedback to the bare bones draft of the last book in my Journ

bottom of page